top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Stone

HVM is going to Greece!

Hello friends,


Just a quick update. Coming soon on September 1st I will be flying to Athens, Greece to attend the Kings Fleet Conference in Port Astro, hosted by Broad Reach Maritime. The conference will be held on Sept 9th to the 11th where many from around the world have a heart to combine the sailing industry with missions. Broad Reach Maritime will be focusing on their new outreach called Island Reach, where a fleet of personal sailboats aim to minister to the many Greek islands. You can learn more about this ministry here. This new outreach is one of the main reasons I have chosen to attend and I look forward to learning more about what they do and how ministry can be done through the mode of sailing as a whole. The ultimate goal is not focused on the sailing...though we all have a love for it! The goal is the Gospel of Jesus Christ! I am currently working on the practical side of sailing in building my skill and experience to one day sail the wide open seas in an effort to reach those "hard to reach" places of the world. This trip holds many unknowns and it took a great deal of prayer and consideration to go having just returned from Ireland not too long ago (more on that missions trip in another post!). However, I believe and have had confirmation from the Word of God I was to commit to my decision in full faith seeing where this would go for Hope Voyage Ministries. After all, Scripture tells us to "go ye into all the world..." so that all nations may know of the person and work of Jesus Christ (Mark 16 & Matt 24). Only He knows the outcome of this missions trip. I'm not going to lie...it's not easy travelling alone, especially across the pond! It is a bit intimidating as I am new to international travel and it can be lonely. One generally shares trips like these with friends or family as it maximizes the experience...If the Lord wills I hope to one day. But I will say travelling alone focuses your attention completely on Christ. You lean on Him entirely because you have to. And what a companion to have...I'm thankful my Savior is with me and I pray for opportunity to meet people along the way to share how Christ has changed my life. How He too can change theirs if they desire. Please pray with me for opportunity, that I walk circumspectly, spiritual and physical safety, comfort and direction towards my next step with Hope Voyage Ministries.


Recently a friend shared a passage from 1 Chronicles 22 that has made me excited and furthers my confidence in Christ to take these "risks" on my own AKA leaps of faith. It talks about David preparing his son, Solomon, to build the Temple - the house of the LORD God. How many skillful workers were called together each in their own trade to make the Temple a masterpiece for God's glory. In verse 5 it says...


"And David said, Solomon my son is young and tender, and the house that is to be builded for the LORD must be exceeding magnifical, of fame and of glory throughout all countries: I will therefore now make preparation for it. So David prepared abundantly before his death."


Exceeding magnifical! There's a phrase I can't say I have used. David had set the bar to what was expected as a tribute and honor to the Almighty God. It "MUST be exceeding magnifical" and "of fame and glory throughout all countries." What he is saying is that he wanted the fame and glory of his LORD to be known via this Temple, throughout all the nations! So, no matter what we are doing in life - be it building a business, an enterprise, a house, a family to even sweeping the floors or making a meal - do everything as unto the LORD! Do it 110% for Him so that His name be magnified and known! That certainly strikes a fire of motivation within me to go all out. Only Jesus Christ gives purpose in a way that calls one to a life of action. So, let it be known to all nations of the Hope behind Hope Voyage Ministries! For Jesus said in John 14:6,


"I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me."


Hebrews 12: 2


"Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God."


Titus 2:13


"Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ;"


John 1:14


"And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth."


Isa. 44:6


"Thus saith the LORD the King of Israel, and his redeemer the LORD of hosts; I am the first, and I am the last; and beside me there is no God."


Rev. 1:8


"I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty."


Rom 12:1


"I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service."


1 Chron. 22: 18-19


"Is not the Lord your God with you? and hath he not given you rest on every side? for he hath given the inhabitants of the land into mine hand; and the land is subdued before the Lord, and before his people.

Now set your heart and your soul to seek the Lord your God; arise therefore, and build ye the sanctuary of the Lord God, to bring the ark of the covenant of the Lord, and the holy vessels of God, into the house that is to be built to the name of the Lord."






76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page