top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Stone

The Climb

Updated: Jun 13, 2020

I want to begin with a bird’s eye view. The mountain top experience…


I’ve always enjoyed this vantage point, so much so that I've come to crave it. The outlook from on high brings into focus the big picture and tends to settle every known and unknown of life into place. The body's heart rate quickly increases with eyes fully dilated taking in as much as possible before making the descent. It’s as if you've opened your eyes to the literal, physical world for the very first time.


Whether it be at 35,000 ft from the window of an airplane or 200 ft up the side of a rock face, I have come to love the eagle’s perspective. You see things in ways like you have never seen before. It has a way of silencing all words...you become still and in tune with the One who designed it.


My love for the bird’s eye view began when I flew in a plane as a child. I remember being glued to the window for the entire flight as an array of landscapes, colors and textures passed beneath me. My newfound interest only became stronger years later when I went rock climbing for the first time in college at the University of Utah. Having zero experience or knowledge in rock climbing, I decided to venture out with the school’s outdoor adventure program to St. George, Utah. This was my introductory solo adventure as a transfer freshman back in 2012. Many firsts came about on this trip to the desert.


-First back-country trip

-First time meeting each classmate that came

-First time camping in the desert

-First encounter with a wild scorpion

-First time walking and sleeping in tarantula territory (their burrows surrounded my tent...!)

-First time seeing the milky way

-First time rock climbing

-First exposure to the bird’s eye view without the safety of four walls around me or a floor beneath me… with the sky as my ceiling and an endless supply of fresh air...there was only one word - invigorating.


The morning we woke up to climb, I had butterflies in my stomach not knowing what to expect. Trekking 100ft or so up steep terrain to our destination before we harnessed up and roped in, my somewhat stable nerves were waning. Cautious and yet purposeful steps were taken as I traversed the foot wide path at the base of the rock. Once there at our belay spot, I held on to the safety line and began surveying both the area below me and the journey I was about to take above me. Having watched two others make the climb first, it was now my turn. After my guides roped me in and safety commands were given, all I had to do was take that first step.


“On belay?”

“Belay on…”

“Climbing…”

“Climb on!”


This verbal command was my confirmation to begin something completely new. A new adventure! No turning back! It was only UP from here. I remember the details of that experience like it was yesterday. The hot, southern Utah sun beating down on my neck and shoulders... the feel of the sharp limestone in my inexperienced, soft hands and beneath the rubber on my feet. One slip and you would know what it’s like to "cheese grate" your knees...so I heard from my guides (and I soon understood)! The dryness of the desert made me thirst for a glass of cold water and the sound of my heart beat loudly in my ears as I climbed further and further up the rock face. Much trust is required in this sport of recreation. Trust in the equipment and trust in the one down below who holds your very life in their hands. One step at a time, looking for the next hand and foot hold again and again and again. Slow and steady, remember to breathe. At one point I stop, not sure how to continue with the lack of hand holds around me. My leg begins to shake as I forget to breathe normally. Just then my guide yells up to me,


“Trust your feet and just stand up!”

“On what?!” I think to myself. There’s no ledge to stand on or place to hold on to!


At these points in climbing they tell you to smear your foot on the wall and just place your flat hands in front of you for balance as you extend your legs, furthering your ascent, allowing access to better holds. Yeah...OK. Easier said than done.


Thankfully, the jagged limestone serves me well as the rubber on my climbing shoes easily grips the rock face and gives me a solid step. I then pass the crux of the climb and proceed to my destination! Only a few more feet to go! I move with confidence and speed having completed the climb thus far to where I finally reached the top! I let out a deep sigh of relief and I briefly examine the bolt and anchor system and realize this little set up is all that is keeping me from falling a couple hundred feet off the rock. My guide yells up to me,


“Sit back and enjoy the view!”


I breathe deep and slowly sit back into my harness like I’m sitting in a chair, my legs extended and feet flat against the wall...I look around...For the past however many minutes it took me to climb to this point, I never once took my eyes off the rock wall in front of me. It was only at the very end that I was able to look around and drink up the scenery that surround me. What a view! I felt a sense of peace. There was a pureness to it...out in the open, fresh air and blue skies. A serene quietness accompanied me as I gazed across the desert landscape from above. All of a sudden my body relaxed and there was no fear. There hanging off the side of a rock face I felt safe. Who would've thought safety could be found here! An unlikely place, yet the truth remains. The bolt and anchor held firm and kept me solid on the rock with no question or doubt. With this confidence I was able to carefully observe this live painting set before me with various shades of browns, tans and grays. Beautiful splashes of yellow , faint hints of red and chartreuse green peppered the ground from cacti and other desert plants. All was still and quiet and I remember thinking, "Wow...thank you, Lord." I wasn't saying thank you for keeping me safe, although I very much was thankful for that, my mind was just filled with the beauty and magnitude of God. This was a perspective I had never seen before. For the few minutes I sat there, I couldn't help but feel near to my Lord. No, it wasn't the fact that I was roughly 200ft closer in a vertical way. It was because I was alone with God in the wilderness. His creation. Without the use of words, creation certainly speaks of its Creator. Words are silenced and a deep reverence is felt in the heart. I was in awe of Him.


I find the Christian life much to be a series of climbs. Our personal route with the Lord is filled with new perspectives and many first time experiences, not always sure about the journey ahead. We tentatively observe the path that lies before us whether filled with definites or uncertainties. We cautiously walk the narrow path, safety line in hand, behind those who have gone before us. Though we may be nervous and unsure we proceed and we can have a confidence in Christ to face the unknown.


"A man's heart deviseth his way: but the LORD directeth his steps." (Prov.16:9)


He already knows our path. Just like the belayer down below who holds our life in their hands while we're on a climb, Christ watches every step we take and is there to provide guidance. He encourages us to keep going and not to fear. He locks our line in place when we fall, keeping us from making a full descent. Christ Himself has already made the climb and knows exactly where to lead us.


"Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar

off. Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.

For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it all together.

Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. Such knowledge

is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it." (Psalm 139: 2-6)


No matter the climb or the task set before us, know that it is given in love only to show you something that you've never seen before. The world will say otherwise, but let the true character of God speak. Be it a very technical climb with the pressures of the surrounding elements of intense heat, wind, rain or the bitter cold, remember...


"...he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither

forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed." (Deut. 31:8)


It is only because of Jesus Christ that we as Christians are able to "climb on" in the face of adversity. After all, we come across a lot of uncharted territory as we rely on the Holy Spirit as our guide. Every new climb brings its challenges. We use muscles we've never used before as we tensely ascend the unfamiliar route holding on to the Rock of our salvation for dear life. Breathe! Remind yourself you are anchored firmly in the solid Rock if you have truly trusted in Jesus Christ as your Savior. New terrain paired with the continual wear and tear of the elements causes us to lose sight of the truths that surround us. When we reach a crux in life fear and panic can run rampant in our minds and cloud our judgement. You suddenly remember you don't like heights and wonder, "Why did I ever choose to step foot on this rock and now look how high I am!"


Look around you! You're wrapped in the harness of God's love and forgiveness specifically outfitted for you, directly attached to the rope which is anchored into the solid Rock of your salvation, Jesus Christ. You're not going anywhere! Your feet are equipped with shoes that were designed to mimic and perform like the feet of a mountain goat! These animals scale rock faces on the tiniest of foot holds. They were made to dwell among the cliffs.


"He maketh my feet like hinds' feet, and setteth me upon my high places."

(Psalm 18:33)

You see? This is God's design! He intended to set you on high places and has equipped you with everything you need to complete the climb. Don't resist it. Though you may be hanging in mid-air, you haven't fallen and are not on a rapid descent to your death as your mind so often and falsely screams at you. If you slip, sure, you get beat up, but you are not utterly cast down.


"Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the Lord upholdeth him with his

hand." (Psalm 37:24)


Get back up, learn from your mistakes, and don't let fear be the one to call the shots. Climb on, dear Christian! Remember the truth of that direct line you are anchored to. No matter the size or absence of a foot hold, "press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. (Phil. 3:14)" Make the choice to continue. The Almighty El Roi sees you and knows when you are feeling beaten, weary and worn. You've fallen and have the scrapes and bruises to prove it. But be encouraged, you're in good company...


"Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall: But they

that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as

eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint."

(Isa. 40:30-31)


See that?! You'll mount up with wings as eagles! This is the perspective I am talking about! You don't have to scale a rock face to know how invigorating this is. Wait on the Lord, live by faith in the One who climbed and conquered the mountain of death itself...for you. This is a guaranteed promise from the LORD.


"He found him in a desert land, and in the waste howling wilderness; he led him about,

he instructed him, he kept him as the apple of his eye. As an eagle stirreth up her nest,

fluttereth over her young, spreadeth abroad her wings, taketh them, beareth them on

her wings: So the LORD alone did lead him, and there was no strange god with him."

(Deut. 32:10-12)


Just like the Lord found the children of Israel in a desert land, maybe today He found you. Are you lost in life's wilderness? Are you looking for peace and purpose? Are you looking for a reason to take that first step and make the climb in life? Christian, have you already taken that first step and are now at a crux, unsure of how to continue? Once again, you find yourself in similar company... For I too once was lost in life's wilderness but have since been found, and I've unregrettably chosen to take that step of faith in the climb as a follower of Jesus Christ...the solid Rock on which I stand. I'm still on the climb and intend to be for a while. Though my Lord leads me on many different routes that push me and challenge me, I have gained "perspectives of Christ" in ways I never have before.


"There is none holy as the LORD: for there is none beside thee: neither is there any

rock like our God." (1 Samuel 2:2)


"From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me

to the rock that is higher than I." (Psalm 61:2)


Friend, maybe today is the day you take that step of faith if you haven't already. Trust me, you'll be glad you did, and it's only up from here! Oh the sights you'll see climb after climb! The Lord so carefully leads us along providing us with sure footing every step of the way if we simply just trust in Him. He is the all-knowing, all-powerful, everywhere present God who gave His only begotten Son to die for you and me! This is a love like no other that compels you to climb for Christ's sake. Go where He wants you to go, say what He wants you to say, be who He wants you to be! He gave His all for you. Will you give your all for Him?


"For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of

God: Not of works, lest any man should boast." (Eph. 2:8)


"Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In

all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths." (Prov. 3:5-6)


"For the LORD shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken."

(Prov. 3:26)


It is only through the work on the cross and the blood of Jesus Christ that enables us to climb. Each route in life is God's way of teaching us about Him and His faithfulness to an undeserving people. He blesses us with new perspectives that equip us and others for the next excursion ahead. Christian, fellow climber, endure those cruxes of life. Meditate on the person behind your faith to keep going. After which, take time to rest and sit back and enjoy the view. For it is only through mountains of unknown terrain that one can find both a serene peace and an invigorating sense of who God is.


Climb on my friends...Climb on!


Location: St. George, Utah

All pictures from the trip mentioned in the post. (numbered top to bottom, left to right)


Picture #1: Our campsite

Picture #2: Tarantula hole

Picture #3: My gear next to a Joshua Tree

Picture #4: Red cactus

Picture #5: View of our camp from the base of the rock (starting point to climbing route)

Picture #6: Hike to the top of the rock ( a back way) we took later in the day

Picture #7: Tent for cooking

Picture #8: View of the rock face we climbed called "Black and Tan" rock

Picture #9: My climbing route (difficulty- 5.7)

Picture #10: View of the valley beside our camp











79 views1 comment
bottom of page